Bond Street Brownie

20170404_214849The Bond Street Brownie from Dark City Brewing poured a classic brown color with a cream-colored head.  It started with a thick head that diminished into a thin head, and left some lacing behind.  I predominately smelled chocolate, but sure enough coffee notes and even some toffee notes, began to emerge.  The first flavor I could taste was roasted coffee and then some coffee grounds.  Soon, though, I picked up on the burnt wood flavors, which was mostly an unpleasant bitterness.  Bond Street Brownie had a moderate body with moderate carbonation.  It was a decent brown ale, however, there was too much burnt wood flavorings for me to truly enjoy it.  Instead of reminding me of a campfire, like many smoked beers, this beer (not smoked) reminded me of the ash underneath it.  Maybe I just expected a sweeter approach with the name “Brownie.”

20170404_215306
Bond Street Brownie from Dark City Brewing
Leave a Reply

