Organic Gimmick?

20170323_210503This was my last pick from a pick-your-own six pack.  I was looking for something to set this final beer a part from the others.  Maybe not my best decision, but I selected this brew solely based on the fact that it was certified USDA organic: containing organic malted barley, organic hops, and organic coffee.  I immediately found that interesting.

The body was dark brown, nearing black, with a reddish hue and a creamy, coffee colored head.  I picked up coffee notes and roasted malts in the aromatics.  I tasted coffee, roasted malt, and toasted marshmallows.  It had a burnt finish, which complimented the coffee flavor nicely.  It’s body was almost medium in mouthfeel with low carbonation.

Was this beer worth the trouble of going totally organic or was this just a gimmick?  I still don’t know, but it’s nice to have a solid option for when I want to drink organic.

20170323_210419
Lakefront Brewery’s Fuel Cafe
Leave a Reply

