The Sweet Treat that is Salted Caramel

20170319_214346
Horny Goat Brewing Co.’s Salted Caramel Brown Ale

To be honest, before I sat down to try this one, I was 50-50.  I was hopeful that it would be delicious yet worried that I had set up too big of an expectation for myself because salted caramel is, perhaps, my favorite flavor combination in the world.  And, truthfully, Horny Goat Brewing Company hit it out of the park with their Salted Caramel Brown Ale.

Popping the can unleashed the powerfully sweet aroma that is caramel.  As I poured it, a dark amber color emerged from the can, topped with a light brown head.  Upon further inspection I also detected butterscotch and light coffee notes.   When I took a drink, the caramel was obviously prominent with just a touch of salt, all wrapped up in a classic brown ale.  A butterscotch element lingered at the end.  There was a slightly robust mouthfeel with a medium amount of carbonation. Overall, this was a delightful dessert beer to drink after finishing a nice meal on a cool day, but maybe I’m a little biased due to my predilections of taste.

Leave a Reply

