Have Your Cake and Drink It Too

Tonight I decided to try Ballast Point’s Nitro Red Velvet, a golden oatmeal stout with beets and chocolate.  Not being too observant, I missed the notice on the bottle directing how to pour it.  Instead, I poured it like a normal beer, so the head was small, but still sported a nice white color.  The beer itself had a rich red hue.  As I put my nose closer to it, I smelt earth tones and beets.  Tasting it, I mostly got beets with just a hint of chocolate.  Mouthfeel was touching on a medium feel, but slightly more watery.  Overall, not as rich as I’d like but pleasantly not too sweet.  The beets were a nice change of pace from more traditional beers.

Leave a Reply

